Change Your Clocks For Daylight Savings

04 Oct 2019

Member for Kiama Gareth Ward MP has today reminded local residents across our region to wind their clocks forward one hour to mark the start of daylight saving on Sunday 6th October 2019.

Mr Ward said that daylight savings officially begins at 2am this Sunday 6th October and will be in place until April 2020.

“Daylight saving is held from the first Sunday in October until the first Sunday in April in all Australian states and territories except Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory where daylight saving is not observed,” he said.

“I would urge everybody to put all of their clocks forward before going to sleep on Saturday night on the eve of the NRL Grand Final.

“With the start of daylight saving, people are also reminded to take this opportunity to change the batteries in their smoke alarms,” Mr Ward said.

Daylight saving was introduced for the first time during World War I from 1 January to 25 March 1917. It also operated during World War II for three summers beginning on 1 January 1942 before being re-introduced in NSW in 1971.