Nominate the next NSW Woman of the Year

03 Jul 2018 award media release

Member for Kiama Gareth Ward MP has today announced that local residents are being encouraged to highlight brilliant women in their community, with nominations now open for the 2019 NSW Women of the Year Awards.

Mr Ward said that the Awards recognise women who have demonstrated excellence in business and society or made outstanding contributions, both personally and professionally.

“So many local women right across the Kiama electorate pour their heart and soul into their careers, families and volunteer work, strengthening and enriching our community,” he said.

“I urge all local residents to submit a nomination and let the women in their lives know how much they are valued and appreciated,” Mr Ward said.

The NSW Minister for Women Tanya Davies officially opened statewide nominations ahead of the 2019 Women of the Year Awards program, which will be celebrating its eighth year.

“These Awards are our chance to recognise exceptional women across the State, particularly those who have excelled despite adversity or made contributions that improve the lives of others,” Mrs Davies said.

“Women from all walks of life make outstanding contributions to our communities while overcoming gender inequity to pursue their personal and professional goals.”

The 2019 NSW Women of the Year Award categories include:

  • NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year Award;
  • NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year;
  • Community Hero;
  • Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year;
  • Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year;
  • NSW Business Woman of the Year; and
  • First State Super Lifetime Achievement.

Nominations for 2019 close on Sunday 11th November 2018. For more information or to nominate somebody, please visit the website at:

The winners will be announced at an Awards ceremony on Thursday 7th March 2019, the day before International Women’s Day.