Lynne Allen of Cambewarra Village Announced As 2019 Kiama Electorate Woman of The Year

Member for Kiama Gareth Ward MP has today announced Mrs Lynne Allen of Cambewarra Village as the 2019 Kiama Electorate Woman of the Year.


Mr Ward said that Mrs Allen was being recognised for her many years of dedication and hard work in our local community.

“Lynne is a well-known and respected local identity who has been a strong advocate for so many local community groups, including as long-serving President of the Shoalhaven Historical Society,” he said.

“Lynne was heavily involved in the 125th rail anniversary of Bomaderry Train Station, the book launch of ‘The Changing Face of the Nowra CBD’ at Nowra Regional Art Gallery in 2018 and the 50th anniversary of the Shoalhaven Historical Society in 2017.

“We have so many extraordinary women across our community doing wonderful things.

“Lynne is not just a deserving recipient of this award but she is a tremendous example of someone who is passionate about helping others. She is universally respected and this award is deserving recognition for her distinguished contribution.

“This award has gone to some amazing women across our community in the years it has been running. I am proud that Lynne is now joining these past winners in recognition of all she has done and continues to do for our local community,” Mr Ward said.

The NSW Minister for Women Tanya Davies said the NSW Women of the Year Local Awards celebrate the contributions and successes of women who are often quiet achievers.

“The Local Awards are designed to acknowledge women who are making a significant impact in the places where we live and work, and in the lives of people around them. Local award winners exemplify the spirit of their communities,” Mrs Davies said.